Wednesday, December 21, 2011

MILLION DOLLAR QUARTET rings in our New Year

MILLION DOLLAR QUARTET rings in our New Year - MILLION DOLLAR QUARTET comes to Tampa Jan. 3-8!

MILLION DOLLAR QUARTET is the smash hit Broadway musical, inspired by the true story of the famed recording session that brought together rock ‘n’ roll icons Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins for the first and only time.

On December 4, 1956, these four young musicians were gathered together by Sam Phillips, the “Father of Rock ’n’ Roll” at Sun Records in Memphis for what would be one of the greatest jam sessions of all time. MILLION DOLLAR QUARTET brings that legendary night to life with an irresistible tale of broken promises, secrets, betrayal and celebrations.

This thrilling musical brings you inside the recording studio with four major talents who came together as a red-hot rock ‘n’ roll band for one unforgettable night. Don’t miss your chance to be a fly on the wall of fame... at MILLION DOLLAR QUARTET!

Musical numbers

· Blue Suede Shoes (Music and Lyrics By Carl L. Perkins) – Company

· Real Wild Child (Music and Lyrics By John O'Keefe, John Greenan and Dave Owens) – Jerry Lee Lewis

· Matchbox (Music and Lyrics By Carl L. Perkins) – Carl Perkins

· Who Do You Love? (Music and Lyrics By Ellas McDaniel) – Carl Perkins

· Folsom Prison Blues (Music and Lyrics By John R. Cash) – Johnny Cash

· Fever (Music and Lyrics By Eddie Cooley and Johnny Davenport) – Dyanne

· Memories Are Made of This (Music and Lyrics By Terry Gilkyson,Richard Dehr and Frank Miller) – Elvis Presley

· That's All Right (Music and Lyrics By Arthur Crudup) – Elvis Presley

· Brown Eyed Handsome Man (Music and Lyrics By Chuck Berry) – Company

· Down by the Riverside – Company

· Sixteen Tons (Music and Lyrics By Merle Travis) – Johnny Cash

· My Babe (Music and Lyrics By Willie Dixon) – Carl Perkins

· Long Tall Sally (Music and Lyrics By Robert Blackwell, Enotris Johnson and Richard Penniman) – Elvis Presley

· Peace in the Valley (Music and Lyrics By Thomas A. Dorsey) – Company

· I Walk the Line (Music and Lyrics By John R. Cash) – Johnny Cash

· I Hear You Knockin (Music and Lyrics By Dave Bartholomewand Pearl King) – Dyanne

· Party (Music and Lyrics By Jessie Mae Robinson) – Carl Perkins and Company

· Great Balls of Fire (Music and Lyrics By Otis Blackwell and Jack Hammer) – Jerry Lee Lewis

· Down by the Riverside (Reprise) – Company

· Hound Dog (Music and Lyrics By Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller) – Elvis Presley

· Ghost Riders (Music and Lyrics By Stan Jones) – Johnny Cash

· See You Later Alligator (Music and Lyrics By Robert Guidry) – Carl Perkins

· Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On (Music and Lyrics By Curly Williams) – Jerry Lee Lewis

For the official website, visit:

For tickers, visit:

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

"Love, Loss and What I Wore" Cast Announced

Love, Loss and What I Wore will be at the Straz Center, Jan. 10-15 and we have official word on who will be in the Tampa cast!

Emily Dorsch from In The Next Room
Daisy Eagan from The Secret Garden
Sonia Manzano from Sesame Street
Loretta Swit from M*A*S*H
Myra Lucretia Taylor from Nine

This intimate collection of stories by Nora and Delia Ephron has entered its second smash year at New York's Westside Theatre. Like the popular book, the show uses clothing and accessories and the memories they trigger to tell funny and often poignant stories that all women can relate to, creating one of the most enduring theatergoing experiences in New York and now across the country.

Click here for tickets.
Click here to watch CBS Sunday Morning's feature on the show!

Monday, December 05, 2011

Janet Jackson Concert Breaks Box Office Record

Janet Jackson Concert Breaks Box Office Record at the Straz Center!

The $330,717 gross of the Sunday, Dec. 4, concert by international superstar Janet Jackson smashed the Straz Center’s long-standing record for gross of a single performance. A concert capacity crowd of 2,548 was on hand in Carol Morsani Hall for Jackson’s Number Ones, Up Close and Personal World Tour. Jackson gave the ecstatic audience two encores that capped an evening of greatest hits that included “The Pleasure Principle,” “Control,” “Nasty,” “Escapade” and “Rhythm Nation.

The previous record of $215,748 was set on Sept. 3, 2003, by Mariah Carey.

Friday, December 02, 2011

A Christmas Story, The Muscial and Metropolitan Ministries Team Up

A Christmas Story, The Musical! has partnered with Metropolitan Ministries for a holiday toy drive. You can save $20 off* select remaining seats for the Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday or Sunday evening performances when you donate a new, unwrapped toy at the Straz Center ticket office. This offer is available in price levels 1 and 2. One discounted ticket per donated toy. Limit 4 discounted tickets. Not applicable to prior sales. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Subject to availability.

If you’d like to make a donation but are attending a different performance of A Christmas Story, The Musical,! or you already have your tickets to the show, you still can. Donation bins will be available prior to all performances of the show.

And don’t forget, Wednesday night is Broadway Family Night! Come early for pre-show activities and a special post-show talkback with members of the cast!

Thursday, December 01, 2011

'Live at the Iveagh Gardens' Double CD/DVD

Josh Ritter was the last Club Jaeb artist. More are coming! See the full line up here!

New 'Live at the Iveagh Gardens' Double CD/DVD Available for Pre-Order
Videos from DVD Now Online, Plus Get a Free MP3!

In July 2010, Josh Ritter and The Royal City Band performed a two-hour show at the Iveagh Gardens - a beautiful park of public gardens - in Dublin, Ireland. This was the first time there have ever been a rock show held there. And this 2 CD/1 DVD set is the result of that show.

This is now available for pre-order in North America! Official release date is December 13th - perfect timing for holiday gift giving and receiving.

And what's a great movie without popcorn? That's why the next 250 pre-orders will receive a free bag of special Royal City popcorn! We'll update the above pre-order page when those run out.

[ Pre-order on AMAZON, or iTUNES, or directly from JOSH'S site ]

SEE SONGS FROM THE DVD ONLINE NOW........... As an added treat, we've already posted two videos - two full songs - online for all to see. And we're gonna keep adding two videos every week - one on Mondays and one on Thursdays - until after release day! Watch the concert's opening song, "Lantern," as well as "Change of Time" from the DVD now - and be sure to share! We'll be nudging everyone via Twitter and Facebook when the next videos go up. Enjoy!

GET A FREE MP3 FROM THE DOUBLE LIVE CD ALBUM............. Another added treat! We're giving away one of the tracks from this new double live cd album: "Lantern" is all yours. Download your free mp3 by clicking HERE. And again, enjoy!

54th Grammys

The 54th Grammys will be held on 12th February in Los Angeles. Here are some artists nominated that are also coming on tour to the Straz Center!

Best R&B Performance (Far Away – Marsha Ambrosius)

Best R&B Song (Far Away – Marsha Ambrosius, Sterling Simms & Justin Smith, songwriters (Marsha Ambrosius)

Best Country Duo/Group Performance (Barton Hollow – The Civil Wars)

Best Folk Album (Barton Hollow – The Civil Wars)

And congrats to past artist Ledisi who was nominated for Best R&B Performance and Best R&B Album for “Pieces Of Me”.

For a complete listing of the nominations, click here.